LAUND HILL UNDER-11S LOVING BEING BACK AFTER LOCKDOWN
Mon 12th Apr 2021 @ 15:28:10 (557 Views)

Posted By : Jon Rayner

news image

This weekend was the third attempt, in the past 12 months, at getting structured football underway in Huddersfield.

It will see 35 under 11s at Laund Hill take to the field and compete against more young boys and girls in a scene that will be replicated hundreds of times across the Huddersfield and wider Kirklees area.

For some this will be only the first few bits of meaningful physical activity that they have taken part in since the third lockdown started in January.

This has led to concerns from coaches and parents about the loss of the opportunities for the young players to cement a lifelong love of football and physical activity due to the lack of participation opportunities over the last year.

They have missed the chance to see how football enables them to socialise, have fun, experience progress and mastery through hard work and effort, whilst becoming fitter and happier.

The Laund Hill players have been training twice a week since lockdown restrictions were eased, and have taken to the return to playing with much gusto and enthusiasm.

For some football offers the chance to be free and express themselves, for others they have clearly missed being with their friends, and for others they can’t wait to continue to replicate the skills and techniques of their heroes that they see every day in the media.

My son William aged 10 says that he’s “missed playing with my friends and doing something that I like" said  Jason Battye.

He’s looking forward to “getting back to normal before Coronavirus stopped us, because playing football is one of children’s best things.”

I’m looking forward to getting back to regular structured participation for the kids because I think football and sport has some much to offer children that they have so little opportunity to experience in today’s modern childhood of screens, increasing obesity levels and instant/constant rewards.

The life skills and life experiences that they have so far missed out on is very sad but we, as coaches and parents, will do our best to give them a sense of what sport can provide, and hopefully we can see 35 young players turn into 35 adults who are still being physically active when they are in their 20s, 30s and upwards.

Sunday was the next step in establishing this player-sport bond and, hopefully, this will continue unabated for many years to come.

https://huddersfieldhub.co.uk/junior-footballers-at-laund-hill-under-11s-loving-being-back-after-lockdown/

Share this ...


Other News

Ursula Spencer
Mon 30th Aug @ 17:15:00 (562 Views)


Football helping each other
Sun 25th Jul @ 17:28:49 (437 Views)


Play, have fun and make new friends! with Huddersfield Town Foundation
Mon 12th Jul @ 14:45:37 (510 Views)


Liversedge FC Need You
Sun 27th Jun @ 14:59:28 (241 Views)


Free Team Registration
Sun 27th Jun @ 14:14:19 (521 Views)


White Rose U16 Player To The Rescue
Fri 16th Apr @ 23:30:57 (1,802 Views)


Brighouse Juniors Club Vacancies
Thu 15th Apr @ 22:25:56 (606 Views)


WANTED !
Fri 2nd Apr @ 14:21:25 (810 Views)


New Player Registration
Fri 26th Mar @ 19:12:15 (901 Views)


Football Re Start
Tue 23rd Mar @ 20:30:15 (981 Views)


THE FA AND MCDONALD’S GRASSROOTS FOOTBALL AWARDS
Tue 23rd Mar @ 19:45:43 (674 Views)


Laurie Platt
Tue 9th Mar @ 22:40:11 (392 Views)


Eric Davies
Sat 27th Feb @ 23:57:07 (297 Views)


MACRON GALA AWARDS
Thu 25th Feb @ 20:28:12 (246 Views)


PREVENT
Sun 14th Feb @ 15:28:39 (280 Views)


DBS Checks Update
Wed 3rd Feb @ 22:39:05 (257 Views)


Liversedge FC deliver Christmas Cheer
Wed 3rd Feb @ 22:24:34 (244 Views)


VACANCIES
Mon 1st Feb @ 22:20:29 (599 Views)


YOUNGMINDS
Fri 29th Jan @ 18:13:13 (214 Views)


Young Gamers and Gambling Education Trust
Fri 29th Jan @ 17:51:21 (192 Views)


MACRON & Huddersfield Junior League Partnership
Tue 26th Jan @ 23:08:28 (256 Views)


The FA Charter Standard League
Tue 19th Jan @ 20:46:33 (200 Views)


Why not give refereeing a go ?
Sat 9th Jan @ 14:20:08 (329 Views)


League Statement January 2021
Wed 6th Jan @ 17:25:39 (748 Views)


Kick It Out
Sat 2nd Jan @ 17:40:43 (386 Views)


Westend Community Champions
Mon 16th Nov @ 20:53:00 (840 Views)


Tournaments


Huddersfield Macron Junior Football League West Riding FA Kick It Out Charter Standard League Huddersfield Town Foundation Huddersfield Hub

Huddersfield Macron Junior Football League 2021 | Privacy Policy
Sponsored by Macron HelpWithIT